From the
organisers of
Hillhead logo

The Concrete Society elects new President

Martyn Fear and William Doherty

William Doherty of Creagh Concrete takes the over the helm from outgoing President Martyn Fear

WILLIAM Doherty of Creagh Concrete has been elected as President of The Concrete Society for a two-year term, taking over from outgoing President Martyn Fear of Specialist Precast Products.

The election took place on Thursday 13 July 2017 during the Society’s Annual General Meeting at its headquarters in Camberley, Surrey.


Paying tribute to Mr Fear, who served on the Society’s Council for many years before his presidential term, the newly elected President said: ‘It has been a pleasure to work with Martyn during the past six years that we have been on Council together.

‘The President and Council are reliant on the managing director and staff for the day-to-day running of the Society, and I look forward to working with them during my two-year term.’

Mr Doherty (right of photo) also assured the AGM attendees that he would visit each region at least once during his term in office, with the hope of attending one technical event and one social event per region.

Commenting on his time in office, Mr Fear said he really enjoyed his two-year presidency. ‘I have been constantly impressed with The Concrete Society and would like to thank both the staff and the regional network of volunteers for their energy in offering a broad range of technical and social activities to Society members and non-members in the UK,’ he remarked.

Further changes to the Society’s senior officers included the election of former treasurer Andrew Bourne of SIKA as President designate, and the election of Council member Deiniol Williams of FOSROC as treasurer.


Latest Jobs